Art Internship Post #3

May 25

Today, Paul and I went over my assignment of thumbnail sketches, which were all vertical, and then we came up five more horizontal sketches.

We chose the horizontal thumbnail sketch that contains the room of perspective and the landscape. Then we duplicated it to the tracing paper to increase the size from 10 inches to 20 inches.

I learned the technique of adding several layers of tracing paper in one piece to finish a working sketch of illustration.

Then I learned some detail structures of architecture and some tips about measuring the vanishing point of things on the different angle.

We also learned some knowledge about human figure in illustration.

Lastly, I got two new assignments. One of them is to finish the third layer of tracing paper, observe and learn how to draw the tree, the bushes, and the clouds. Another assignment is to sketch 20 figures based on Mucha’s works.

thumbnail sketches
more sketches
two layers of my illustration draft in tracing paper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *