Haiti Construction Internship Post #3

We worked at the school for 4 days total building the outdoor classroom and garden area. On Friday I finished framing the structure and then the next day I put on the tin roof. Once the classroom was done and the whole garden area fenced in, I built two gates for access. It was hard building anything out of the lumber they had at the school because it was all very warped and splitting, but it was all we had (non-local wood is expensive in Haiti because they have to import it from the States).  I installed hinges and stapled chicken wire to the gates and hung them. The last day we were at the school we planted a bunch of starfruit trees and some other trees on the perimeter of the fence. We found a few holes in the barbed wire fencing we put up a couple of days earlier and fixed those. Next we are heading back to Cap Haitian and then to the center in Lambe where I will spend the last couple days of my time in Haiti.

Henry Miller

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *